Plan now for K-State Soybean Schools, Feb. 24-28

Share Tweet Email

Kansas State Research and Extension in conjunction with the Kansas Soybean Commission, and supported by The Climate Corporation, BASF, Bayer CropScience, DuPont, Syngenta, and KFRM 550 AM radio station, will hold in-depth Soybean Schools at four locations throughout Kansas. Meeting dates span Feb. 24-28 and address a number of issues facing soybean producers: crop production practices; nutrient management and soil fertility; and insect, weed, and disease management. Each soybean school will begin with registration at 8:30 a.m. The program will start at 9 a.m., there will be a lunch at noon, and the program will conclude at 3:45 p.m. As a new feature for these Schools, concurrent sessions will be held on the use of new technologies (Web-tools, Apps, Images) for farming. Commercial Applicator Recertification and CCA credits have been applied for.

Producers have two options for registering to these Schools (before Feb. 17):

  1.  Online at


  1.  Contacting the following Extension Agents (related to each location):
  2. : Leroy Russell ; 785-232-0062 Ext. #0
  3. : Josh Coltrain ; 620-724-8233
  4. : Kim Larson ; 785-243-8185
  5. : Ryan Flaming ; 316-284-6930

K-State Soybean School Schedule:

  • Monday, Feb. 24 – Topeka – Washburn Tech Conference Center
  • Tuesday, Feb. 25 – Pittsburgh – Memorial Auditorium
  • Thursday, Feb. 27 – Concordia – Cloud County Community College
  • Friday, Feb. 28 – Newton – Meridian Center

Kansas Soybean School Presenters (depending on location):

  • Dallas Peterson, Weed Management Specialist
  • Ignacio Ciampitti, Crop Production/Cropping Systems Specialist
  • Dorivar Ruiz-Diaz, Nutrient Management Specialist
  • Doug Jardine, Extension Plant Pathologist
  • Doug Shoup, Southeast Area Crops and Soils Specialist
  • Stu Duncan, Northeast Area Crops and Soils Specialist
  • Jeff Whitworth, Extension Entomologist
  • JP Michaud, Entomologist, K-State Agricultural Research Center-Hays
  • Brian McCornack, Entomologist
  • Wendy Johnson, Entomologist
  • Dan O’Brien, Agricultural Economist
  • Kevin Herbel, Extension Agricultural Economist, KFMA Program Administrator
  • Bill Schapaugh, Soybean Breeder
  • Kim Larson, District Extension Agent, River Valley District
  • Bryson Haverkamp, Graduate Student, Kansas State University
  • Ryan J. Van Roekel, Graduate Student, University of Arkansas

Ignacio Ciampitti, Crop Production and Cropping Systems Specialist

Doug Shoup, Southeast Area Crops and Soils Specialist